Our Mission & History

Our Mission

Provide members with the resources and advocacy they need to remain independent, grow their banks and benefit their communities.

Our Vision

The positive impact of a community bank in every hometown.

Our History: A Story of Excellence That Continues Today

Organized in 1962 as Independent Bankers of Minnesota, the current Independent Community Bankers of Minnesota (ICBM) was created to represent the unique interests of “independent unit banks” in Minnesota. In 1992, the word “community” was added to emphasize the focus on the important role that community banks play in their local economies to support families, schools, and businesses.

Every educational opportunity, networking event, and legislative advocacy effort conducted through ICBM is created for community bankers by community bankers. ICBM provides a source of information and a powerful voice in government by uniting the influence of all community bankers under a single entity. When ICBM works to represent your bank, you’re being represented by a fellow community banker.

Since the beginning, ICBM has been an association comprised of independent, community-focused banks. It provides proactive leadership for members through a variety of programs, products, services, and efforts to preserve a competitive environment, with all activities coordinated solely with the distinct perspective of community banking. 


Past Chairs


TermChairOffices in
1962-63 John D. Chisholm Rochester*
1963-64 Harold W. Lynch Arlington*
1964-65 Everett Schouweiler St. Paul
1965-66 Gordon C. Donnelly Wheaton*
1966-67 L. Peters Hastings*
1967-68 Herman G. Hamre Wood Lake*
1968-69 Lyle E. Briggs Houston*
1969-70 James P. Kayfes Hastings
1970-71 Chester N. Eggen Richfield*
1971-72 George R. Francis Cook*
1972-73 Frank P. Pecchia Minneapolis*
1973-74 Paul W. Bergien Carlos*
1974-75 Bruce W. Lloyd Heron Lake*
1975-76 E. Milton Klohn Newport
1976-77 Jerry J. Jubie Floodwood*
1977-78 Merle P. Larson Clarissa*
1978-79 Paul H. Bringgold Cannon Falls
1979-80 Adrian Golberg Cottonwood
1980-81 John A. Perra Zumbrota
1981-82 Peter A. Carlson Argyle
1982-83 Lowell G.Wakefield Wayzata
1983-84 Larry R. Lindeberg Forest Lake
1984-85 James A. Clark Lake Crystal
1985-86 J. Stephen Schmidt Anoka
1986-87 Kermit A. Mahlum St. Peter
1987-88 Edward J. Zapp St. Cloud
1988-89 Gene LaFrance Elysian*
1989-90 Tom Grinnell Loretto
1990-91 G. Jack Hillstrom Maplewood
1991-92 John Baer Bemidji
1992-93 W. C. Mawe Rosemount
1993-94 Larry Sorenson Arlington
1994-95 Robert Barsness Prior Lake
1995-96 Mark Hewitt Park Rapids
1996-97 Wayne Finnern Madelia
1997-98 Don Raleigh Lake Elmo
1998-99 Robert Vogel New Market
1999-00 Gerald Payne LeRoy
2000-01 Michael Byrne Long Lake
2001-02 David Knopick Mankato
2002-03 Christopher Skaalen Harmony
2003-04 J. Scott Hutton St. Paul
2004-05 Peter Haddeland Mahnomen
2005-06 James Espeland Henning
2006-07 Brian Nicklason Remer
2007-08 Mark Hewitt Park Rapids
2008-09 David Knopick Mankato
2009-10 Douglas Jilek Silver Lake*
2010-11 Steve Olson Lake Crystal
2011-12 Nancy Skophammer Hartland
2012-13 Noah Wilcox Grand Rapids
2013-14 Dennis Martinson Glenwood
2014-15 James Kramer Altura
2015-16 Harry Wahlquist Eden Prairie
2016-17 Rick Gobell St. Paul
2017-18 Scott Wakefield Mayer

7900 International Drive, Suite 685,

Bloomington, MN 55425

Phone: 651.687.9080

Fax: 651.687.9387


© 2018 ICBM. All Rights Reserved.

A proud state affiliate of the